you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Sniffles

After braving the beach twice this weekend and going out on Saturday night I’ve finally succumb to the fact that yes, I am sick.

My nose is stuffed, my head is heavy, and I’ve got the cough of a women who has smoked two packs a day. I regularly lose my voice and end up sounding like an old man hobbling down the sidewalk ranting about ‘kids these days’. I bought very cute tissues tho…

What I realized was….it is weird to be sick here because being sick = real life. Sydney, Australia = fake life. The two together…they don’t match. I’m now waking up from an interesting sleep where I take Sudafed, fall into a deep sleep for about 3 hours, wake up and toil, take Sudafed and then have the weirdest dreams.

It is sunny today, but I won’t be heading outside. It is Monday morning, 9:32AM and in about 30 mins I’ll head downstairs to watch the Superbowl….sans any interesting commercials, sans mini hot dogs BUT WITH THE GIANTS. As much as it sucks that I can’t be in New York for this extravaganza, I do appreciate that at least, I can watch the game…that it isn’t at like 3 am. It does bring new meaning to the following picture:

More like….is it Monday morning yet?

I do miss my family today. It would be nice to cheer on my team with my fellow Giants fans! But instead I will glare meanly at my Patriots fan friends and possibly order DOMINOS. (yes, dominos is located in Sydney, yes Angela — the kickers are even better here)

So yeah, I’m sick. I’m awake to watch the Giants and then the rest of the week looks slightly bleak — lots of reading to do, papers to write, etc!

This weekend (if I can get better) will be a lot of fun though! Friends are all back from surf camp and I have Friday/Saturday night before heading off to Hunter Wine Valley with my wine class! We get to stay a night, taste wine, and have a wonderful time šŸ™‚ It is my first field trip out of Sydney!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Sniffles

  1. Hope you’re feeling better soon. The photo of this baby is adorable! Post more photos…
    Maria D (Paramus,NJ)

    Posted by maria deutsch | 02/10/2012, 1:57 pm
  2. HAPPY VALENTINES DAY! LOVE GMJ

    Posted by Jayne Georgette | 02/13/2012, 3:11 am

Leave a Reply

