you're reading...
Uncategorized

A Few Days in LA

BEFORE THIS POST: I made a fun email to stay in touch with people: sydneypenpal@gmail.com because snail mail will be way too slow and I like the idea of having pen pals (I’m 5). Write me letters, send me pictures, whatever you want! 🙂 …and keep reading this blog!

The truth is, as I was waving my last and final goodbye to my family as I left for LA, I was sad. Why had I chosen to leave this absolutely amazing people two days early? What was I thinking? Especially since the NYG, THE BIG BLUE, was playing on Sunday (they won, just in case you cared) and I love watching football with my family.

But now, lying in my cousin Ethan’s bed, fishy sheets and Derek Jeter on the wall, I’m so glad that I got to spend this time with my aunt, uncle and wonderfully handsome (as Dylan likes to be called) cousins.

I’ve spent time with Ethan, age 9, and Dylan, age 5 (going on 25) before – but when they were too young to remember me. Now through this amazing opportunity I’ve got to spend two and a half days playing and making memories with them. I even got to see my grandma and grandpa for the first time in forever.

Dylan, hiding in the curtains

Dylan taught me how to play Angry Birds and I’ve learned more Lego characters then I can remember from Ethan – I’ve ate LA mexican at Pequito Mas where on the door it reads “no autographs” and got to wrestle with my cousins. I ate homemade pizza from my grandma and had many a tickle battle. Yes, these tickle fights are more like battles. Who knew boys 10 years younger then me could fight so hard? Ethan is one of the sweetest boys I’ve ever met and Dylan is absolute bundle of energy, a firecracker really. They are both so different and both so amazing that I can’t imagine what I was missing if I didn’t stop here.

Oh hey Ethan!

I’m so grateful for my aunt and uncle opening up their home to me and I’m so happy I got to spend this time with them – it really reminded me that no matter where you are, you can find family. You’ll always be comfortable with family. I also loved seeing old pictures of my family.

My mom and my uncle!

And now I’m lying in bed at 6am, pondering the vastness of the future…of heading to an amazing foreign country where they eat shrimp on the barbie and ingest copious amounts of wine (neither of which are bad traits) — and I couldn’t be more excited.

To all flying to Aus tonight whether on my flight, on the later flight, or flying alone I wish safe travels and many parties when we get there!!

P.S. When I do find my cord for my memory stick – better pictures will posted on the blog posts and in a separate gallery 🙂 STAY TUNED

Discussion

One thought on “A Few Days in LA

  1. This is a great post. I love the “Mom and uncle” photograph. Hopefully I will be contributing to your photo gallery with history (including my Palazzo slacks)

    Posted by Jayne Georgette | 01/17/2012, 1:20 am

Leave a Reply

